DUI / DUII Defense and Related DMV Hearings

It is vital to understand the severity of the punishments attached to a DUI / DUII and how important it is to have a strong defense. It is critical you act fast to get legal representation as close to the arrest as possible.

Hire the best DUI lawyer you can find.

Mr. Thompson has been named a National Advocacy for DUI Defense (NAFDD) Superior DUI Attorney, and is also a member of the National College of DUI Defense as he has specific understandings of the legal system, especially as related to DUI / DUII cases.

If you have been arrested or charged with driving under the influence or driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUI / DUII), it most likely is because you have been arrested or charged with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or more, or while under the influence of alcohol, cannabis, a controlled substance, and/or an inhalant.

What consequences am I facing if convicted of a DUI or DUII?

Typical Jail Time and Fines for Convictions
  1st offense 2nd offense 3rd offense
Jail Time 48 hours (or 80 hours community service) to 1 year (depending on jurisdiction) 48 hours (or 80 hours community service) to 1 year (depending on jurisdiction) 90 days (if convicted of DUII at least 2 times in the past 10 years) to 5 years
Fines $1,000 ($2,000 if BAC is .15% or more) to $6,250 $1,500 ($2,000 if BAC is .15% or more) to $6,250 $2,000 (if the person is not sentenced to a term of imprisonment) to $125,000 (if convicted of a class C felony)
License Suspension and/or Interlock Device
  1st offense 2nd offense 3rd offense
License Suspension 1 year 3 years (depending on timing of prior conviction) Permanent (may petition the court to restore license after 10 years)
Ignition Interlock Device (IID) 1 year 2 year 2 to 5 years (depending on the timing of prior convictions)

What should you do if you are arrested or charged with a DUI or DUII?

Step 1
Contact Thompson Law as soon as possible. Even a consultation can answer many preliminary questions you'd have for a specialist DUI lawyer. If this is an emergency and you or a loved one are currently under arrest and looking for information regarding whether you should provide a breath test, call Mr. Thompson at (503) 939-7700.

Step 2
Request a DMV hearing. You have 10 days including weekends and holidays to make a request for a DMV hearing. If possible, we always want to attend that hearing.

Step 3
Prepare for your next court appearance. The first court appearance is the arraignment. However, helping you navigate the entire judicial process, as well as the interrelated DMV process is our job for our clients arrested and/or charged with DUI or DUII in Oregon. At this point, obtaining discovery and investigating the allegations are most crucial. Regardless of your status retaining legal counsel, do not plead guilty at your first appearance. There are ways to fight the DUI / DUII charges and win the case, even if not apparent to the untrained eye. A not-guilty plea will preserve your right, which gives us the opportunity to challenge the merits of your case or show that you were not driving under the influence.

Jason Thompson is a nationally recognized DUI attorney available across Oregon.

Contact Thompson Law today for the best DUI defense available.

How would a DUI / DUII conviction affect my life?

DUI / DUII can affect employment and these charges are not expungeable if convicted. These charges can greatly impact your life and it is not worth the risk without experienced counsel such as Mr. Thompson. Contact us immediately for a consultation if you have recently been arrested for DUI / DUII, or have been charged with DUI / DUII. Mr. Thompson will also help you make the important decision of whether to enter the DUI / DUII Diversion Program or not.