Oregon Gun Crimes Attorney & Gun Rights Restoration Lawyer
It is vital to understand the severity of the punishments attached to gun crimes and how important it is to have a strong defense.
Gun violence carries a heavy price tag, with an annual grand total of $2.6 billion, according to a report by the Giffords Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence. Every year, about 63 gun-related homicides, 378 gun-related suicides, 160 nonfatal shootings, and 138 unintentional shootings happen in Oregon.
I want to restore my gun rights in Oregon. Do I need an attorney?
Your Second Amendment Rights have been lost if you have been convicted of a felony, drug crime, domestic violence, or are the subject of a restraining order. You are able to petition the county you live in and prove by clear and convincing evidence that you are not a danger to society, but the case you make will need to be strong and compelling. Mr. Thompson has extensive experience in framing your case and getting your gun rights restored.
The story we convey will be supported by letters of support from family, friends and co-workers. We will prepare you and your witnesses to testify in a convincing manner as to why you should have your rights restored. This is a legal process that will require experienced guidance for the best chance of restoration of your gun rights in Oregon.
What are the requirements for me to restore my Oregon gun rights?
There are a few requirements:
- You must not have served a felony sentence in the last year
- You must not have been convicted of a crime which has a mandatory minimum sentence (Measure 11)
- You must not have been convicted of a person felony if that crime involved the use of a firearm or deadly weapon
You want to hire the best criminal defense attorney with experience in petitioning the court for restoring gun rights, but also an attorney with the experience in framing delicate cases in the best possible light. Jason Thompson is the lawyer for you.
Understanding Oregon Gun Laws
Oregon is an “Open Carry” state, which gives most adults rights to carry firearms without permits. A state permit is required, however, if you choose to carry a concealed weapon on you or in your vehicle. It is illegal to point a gun at a person, except for self-defense.
It is also illegal in the state of Oregon to use and/or own silencers, machine guns, sawed-off shotguns, and armor piercing ammunition. Background checks are conducted at the point of sale and there is no waiting period before purchasing.
You may not own a gun if you are:
- Under 18 years old, except for hunting or with parent’s consent;
- A convicted felon or juvenile felony offender (within 4 years);
- Committed to the Mental Health and Developmental Disability Services Division or are mentally ill;
- Subject to a court order prohibiting the purchase or possession of firearms; or
- An inmate of an institution.
What consequences am I facing if convicted of a Gun Crime?
Many crimes committed with firearms fall under Ballot Measure 11. These crimes all carry a minimum jail sentence that ranges from five to twenty years. There are several exceptions to 2nd Amendment rights, however, there are also legal mechanisms available to those convicted of gun crimes in order to restore firearm privileges.
Gun crimes can affect employment and these charges are sometimes not expungeable if convicted. Gun convictions can greatly impact your life and it is not worth the risk without experienced legal counsel such as Jason Thompson as your gun crimes attorney. Contact Thompson Law immediately for a consultation if you have recently been arrested for a gun crime or are looking for a gun rights lawyer to help get your gun rights restored.